Week 1: Jan 16 – Jan 22

dsc_04171

What did you do this past week?

As the new semester starts, the first week has come by with a breeze. In many of my classes, including this one, we have gone through most of the syllabus. However, Prof. Downing wasted little time in getting into the meat of the work. Before we knew it, we were introduced to many thing, and questioned a lot of things we thought we knew (specifically Java). We went over the concepts of cycle length and how to compute them, and also l- and r-values and how each language uses them.

What’s in your way?

Out of the two semesters per year, Spring semester is always the busier of the two. This is due to the extracurricular activities I participate in having huge events this semester and, therefore, many practices and hours put into our events. Coming from taking 13 hours last semester, I added an extra class. Therefore, this will cut into my time for both myself and all my other classes.

What will you do next week?

Next week is where the real stuff begins and all my classes go into full swing. Now that the first project is out, I plan on going over it and start coming up with my basic solution so I can expand on it in the coming weeks. With that in mind, I need to decide on which of the three options I want to do my projects over. While i’m leaning towards using UTCS computers at the moment simply because their familiar, Docker is looking a lot nicer and, more importantly, convenient.

What’s my experience of the class?

So far, my experience in this class has been rather pleasant. Prof. Downing’s teaching style is very engaging, both in the way he lectures and how he involves the students. The chance that your name can be called to answer a question is, quite frankly, terrifying though forces me to pay attention. Not only that but the daily quizzes forces you to also pay attention to everything that has been said, just so you don’t miss any questions related to lecture material.

What’s my pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip of the week is to familiarize yourself with the programs that you decide to use for your projects, whether it be Docker, the UTCS machines, or installing all necessary programs. It’s imperative to get this done sooner or later so you don’t waste valuable time that could be spent on your project by being confused about how to operative. On an non-CS related note, I suggest everyone to be sure to get yourself situated on your schedule to get back into the groove, especially by fixing your terrible sleep schedule I know you have.

Leave a Reply

