Week 5:Feb 13 – Feb 19

dsc_04171

What did you do this past week?

This past weekend was the final week for Project 2. Not only that, I had quite a bit of tests. It’s a miracle that my partner and I finished the project a day earlier. However, we never fixed our unit test cases, even after going to a couple TA sessions. My tests went okay, did great on one and not so great on another.

What’s in your way?

After this past week, there isn’t that much in my way. I have decided to drop a class, which frees up quite a bit of my time for my other classes and for myself. It’s mostly just extracurricular and social stuff that is in my way.

What will you do next week?

This next week will be a week for me to rest. All my tests have passed by other than the test for this class. Therefore, I will also begin reviewing for it as much as I can. Other than that I don’t have many plans at this point.

What’s my experience of the class?

This class is definitely my favorite CS class I’ve taken here. The projects aren’t too stressful (as of now) and Downing is a great lecturer who explains everything very well. The questions he asks in class to people aren’t terrible at all and he’ll normally go over it beforehand anyways. Hopefully, the test next week won’t be as bad as a lot of CS tests.

What’s my pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

One thing that helped my partner and I immensely on this last project is the use of print statements. While it may be a simple concept and maybe common sense, it’s still an important thing about debugging your code. We would let the code run with print statements and looked at the .tmp in order to help. On the unit tests, we just copy and pasted our code into another program like Eclipse and attempted to recreate the problem with print statements.

 

Leave a Reply

