Week 7: Feb 27 – Mar 3

dsc_04171

What did you do this past week?

This past week we took out first test in the class. I did a lot better than I expected I would, however the test also wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I don’t know if Prof Downing did it on purpose (there’s no way he wouldn’t) but some test questions just gave free answers out to other questions if you paid attention close enough, and for that I am grateful.

What’s in your way?

This week is the last week before spring break, so that means it is going to be very hard for me to focus. It also means my performance is this Friday, so it is crunch time for that and practices will start going until 2 to 4 in the morning. This means there is going to be very little time for school work, which basically means I won’t be sleeping.

What will you do next week?

This next week is kind of a free week school-wise. I do have a midterm Tuesday and I can only assume we’re starting the next project for this class. Knowing my partner for this project, I’m not terribly sure we’ll even start this week.

What’s my experience of the class?

After taking that exam, I’m really excited for this class. Obviously paying attention in class is helping a lot and it’s not like I’m forced to pay attention; I’m actually interested in it. To be honest, I didn’t study that much for the test because I already felt like I knew the material pretty well (and the cheat sheet saved lives) just from attending lectures.

What’s my pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip of the week is to utilize all your resources available to you when studying for the tests. Honestly, those group documents that were posted on piazza were extremely in-depth and any question you had that wasn’t on it could be answered by a quick side note on the doc. I talked to some people who didn’t know of the shared documents and they, truth be told, didn’t do as well as some people who did use those cheat sheets and went through the practice test. You shouldn’t have to study by yourself, and it’s best not to. It’s kind of equivalent to pair-programming.

Leave a Reply

