Week 10: Mar 27 – Apr 2

dsc_04171

What did you do this past week?

This week was the start of Project 4. I was able to get a partner and we’ve been meeting every day since. I also attended the Atlassian talk on Monday. It was interesting; it kind of opens your eyes to how even major companies can still make performance errors. I did apply for their internship after the talk just because I really enjoyed their values and how much emphasis they put on teams. I was pretty interested in HipChat and how it would distinguish itself from other major instant messaging services.

What’s in your way?

The only thing in my way right now is the time constraints between me and my partner. He is a bit more busy than I am, so we need to finish this project in what time we do have together.

What will you do next week?

Next week we’ll be finishing Project 4. I have no other homework in any of my other classes as of now, so this project will be the top priority.

What’s my experience of the class?

My experience in this class is still enjoyable. The only thing that has changed is the difficulty of the projects and the more stressful they’ve become. Luckily, Prof. Downing has been giving relatively easier quizzes, so those aren’t nearly as stressful as they used to be. I’ve been getting 5’s on them for quite awhile now. (Please don’t change that after reading this)

What’s my pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip-of-the-week may be obvious but I do think you should focus on finishing the HackerRank portion of the project as fast as possible. For one, it’s worth half of the project points. Not only that but it’s easier to understand and organize since there are no separate files you need to worry about. When you finish HackerRank, you’re essentially done with the project. All you need to do is translate your code between the files you’re given and make sure they work with each other.

Leave a Reply

